Destiny 2: Beyond Light – Wrathborn Hunts And Cryptolith Lure Guide

Destiny 2: Beyond Light – Wrathborn Hunts And Cryptolith Lure Guide

The Season of the Hunt activity is now available in Destiny 2. Starting today, Guardians can begin configuring their Cryptolith Lures and participating in Wrathborn hunts. Not only is this a great way to farm powerful upgrades, new weapons, and custom armor, it also opens up the path to the newest Triumph Seal title: Warden.

Wrathborn hunts are a seasonal progression activity that allows you to target and customize gear by charging up a new quest item called the Cryptolith Lure and loading it with mutation mods. The system is reminiscent of last season’s Prismatic Recaster, but upgrading doesn’t seem to be time-gated in the same way. If you focus on being efficient, it’s possible to max out your reputation with crow very quickly and begin farming specific high-level gear.

Configuring The Cryptolith Lure

After completing the Trail of Vengeance mission on The Moon, head to the Tangled Shore to meet with Spider and Crow. Crow will give you a new quest item called the Cryptolith Lure which you will use to participate in Wrathborn hunts.

To use the lure, you first have to charge it. You can charge the lure in any playlist activity, but killing powerful enemies and getting precision kills in strikes will make the most efficient progress. It is fairly easy to charge the lure in a single strike if you focus on precision kills. You can stack up to three charges in the lure.

Once charged, you then need to access the lure in your inventory and install three lure mods. The first slot determines which Wrathborn Hunt you will do, while the middle and left slow are for mutation mods.

There are four different Wrathborn hunts, two Fallen and two Hive, but only the Fallen one will be available until you raise your reputation with Crow to level 2 (more on that later). The rewards for each hunt will be either armor, weapons, lure mutations, and recon data. These rewards will change every time you complete a hunt.

You can only insert one mutation mod per hunt. The middle slot takes weak mods while the left slot takes strong mods. Which mods you decide to slot, you’ll need to insert a dormant mod in the slot next to it. Mutation mods affect the stats and perks on the gear rewarded for completing Wrathborn hunts.

Wrathborn Hunts

Fallen hunts begin on the Tangled Shore and Hive hunts begin in the Dreaming City. Once you’ve charged and slotted your lure with mods, go to the marked location on your map and interact with the growth to start the hunt.

A powerful enemy will spawn will some adds. You need to get this enemy down to about 10% health. Killing a nearby knight will drop a pool on the ground. Stand in it to deal bonus damage to the powerful enemy.

Once it’s almost dead it will vanish. You’ll need to follow a trail of green slime on the ground until you find another growth to interact with to start the hunt proper.

In the hunt, the target will be immune to damage. Again, killing a knight will drop a circle on the ground. You need to stand in it and attack the target to break its shield. If you continue to stand in the circle you’ll do bonus damage. Each pair of hunts have a triumph you can earn by killing the target with a specific weapon.

  • BIG GAME DUO: Tangled Shore – Defeat Savik with a grenade launcher, defeat HKD-1 with a sword
  • BIG GAME DUO: Dreaming City – Defeat Dul Arath with a machine gun, defeat Xillox with a fusion rifle

Killing the target will reward the item specified in your lure, as well as a certain amount of recon data.

Crow Reputation Rewards

Crow can be found on the Tangled Shore next to Spider. Every 20 recon data you give Crow will increase your rank by one. You’ll unlock new perks at rank 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10.

If you’ve gotten to at least 32 on your season track, you will have enough recon data for a full rank up (ten from level 2 and ten from level 12) as well as a recon data boost. Use these 20 recon data to rank up with Crow and unlock Reputation Boost 1, which will increase the amount of recon data you receive from Wrathborn hunts. Now, every Wrathborn Hunt will give you five recon data, or in other words, four Wrathborn Hunt completions will give you one rank up. Here are all of the rank up perks.

  • Reputation Boost 1 (Rank 1): Increases the amount of recon data obtained from Wrathborn hunts
  • Improve Seeker 1 (Rank 2): Unlock Hive Wrathborn hunts
  • Power Hunter (Rank 4): Increases the power of rewards obtained from Wrathborn hunts. The amount of weekly powerful Wrathborn hunt rewards increases from two to four. Crow’s Weekly Challenge is upgraded to a pinnacle power reward.
  • Reputation Boost 2 (Rank 6): Increases the amount of recon data obtained from Wrathborn hunts. Increases the drop rate of lure mods when completing non-Wrathborn hunt activities.
  • Seasoned Hunter (Rank 8): Beneficial modifiers are activated in Wrathborn hunts.
  • Mutation Mod Extractor (Rank 10): Increases the amount of mutation mods obtained from Wrathborn hunts.

Crow also sells five different lure mods, three weak and two strong, for glimmer. It’s good to have at least one of each of these mods, but plenty of mods will drop from completing Wrathborn hunts as well. It’s also possible that these mods will rotate daily. Crow also offers bounties, but they currently only reward XP and there doesn’t seem to be any indication that they will have additional rewards later on.

Wrathborn Hunt Rewards

Selecting Crow’s Engram will show the selection of seasonal gear that can be earned by ranking up and completing Wrathborn hunts. They are:

  • Blast Butte: Adaptive frame power grenade launcher
  • Royal Chase: Precision frame scout rifle
  • Friction Fire: Precision frame submachine gun
  • Corsairs Wrath: Precision frame linear fusion rifle
  • Defening Whisper: Wave frame energy grenade launcher
  • Wild Hunt armor set

Additionally, Wrathborn hunts can sometimes reward recon data or mutation mods. Until you reach at least Rank 10 with Crow you should complete every Wrathborn hunt that rewards recon data in order to speed up the process.

READ NEXT: Destiny 2: Beyond Light – Dead Exo Locations And The Lament Exotic Sword Quest Guide



  • Guides
  • Destiny 2
  • Destiny 2: Beyond Light

Eric Switzer is the Livestream News Editor for TheGamer as well as the lead for VR and Tech. He has written about comics and film for Bloody Disgusting and VFXwire. He is a graduate of University of Missouri – Columbia and Vancouver Film School. Eric loves board games, fan conventions, new technology, and his sweet sweet kitties Bruce and Babs. Favorite games include Destiny 2, Kingdom Hearts, Super Metroid, and Prey…but mostly Prey. His favorite Pokémon is Umbreon.

Source: Read Full Article