'Beat Saber' Gets First Paid Music Pack, Update Brings Previous PSVR Exclusives to PC – Road to VR

'Beat Saber' Gets First Paid Music Pack, Update Brings Previous PSVR Exclusives to PC – Road to VR

Beat Games today released Beat Saber’s long-awaited first DLC music pack, an effort created in partnership with electronic dance music record label Monstercat. A new update on PC also brings it up to speed with the PSVR version, now featuring full mode and track parity between both platforms.

Update (12:10 PM ET): It previously appeared that only the individual songs and a bundle featuring both the base game and the 10-song pack were available at launch. It seems there’s been a fix in the meantime, as Steam now shows the bundled songs correctly.

Dubbed ‘Monstercat Music Pack Vol. 1’, the paid DLC contains 10 tracks priced at either $13 for the entire pack, or $2 individually. Beat Games says all levels were mapped by hand and are available in all 5 difficulties: Easy, Normal, Hard, Expert and Expert+ mode.

Here’s all the tracks coming in the first music pack; you can preview each track below by clicking on the title:

1. Till It’s Over – Tristam
2. We Won’t Be Alone (feat. Laura Brehm) – Feint
3. Boundless – Aero Chord
4. EPIC – Tokyo Machine
5. Stronger (feat. EMEL) – Stonebank
6. Overkill – RIOT
7. This Time – Kayzo
8. Emoji VIP – Pegboard Nerds
9. Rattlesnake – Rogue
10. Feeling Stronger (feat. Charlotte Colley) [High Maintenance Remix] – Muzzy

The music pack will be available for purchase for both PSVR and PC VR users, including Steam (Rift, Vive, Windows VR) and Oculus Store (Rift).

Additionally, PC users now have complete parity with PSVR after today’s update, as the PC version now features two previous PSVR exclusives: campaign mode and five tracks from OST Vol. II.

Beat Saber also now features a new UI, something Beat Games says was designed so players can “browse packs easily and add tracks to their music library comfortably with just a few clicks and with their headsets on.”

The new music pack is decidedly a step in the right direct in terms of more high intensity music, although we were definitely hoping for some more variety in genres (I personally was hoping for some K-POP and metal). Going with a single record label does have its advantages though in terms of navigating usage rights; it seems Beat Games is still playing it safe in order to provide a quantity and quality of music to further support one of top-performing VR games as of late.

Source: Read Full Article